Advice from a Chef: Read the Labels!

Yes, you guessed it, didn’t follow my own advice tonight!!

Tonight’s main course was a recipe made up on the fly!

Beef Meatballs with sun-dried tomatoes, egg, bread crumbs, dill, grated onion, grated Parmesan, sea salt and ground black pepper and a dash of Kalamata Olive Oil, as I was using lean ground beef.  I baked the meatballs @500 for 18 minutes.  Turning once.

Baked Sun-dried Tomato Meatballs

Baked Sun-dried Tomato Meatballs

The plan was for meatballs in Pita Breads with the following condiments:

Balsamic Glazed Caramelized Red Onions

Yogurt, Cucumber, Mint & Feta Sauce

Red Pepper Hummus (Purchased)

Hot Sweet Cherry Peppers

The nicely hot peppers!

The nicely hot peppers!

The side dish was Toasted Orzo with Tomatoes, Basil, Peas & Parmesan.

Was very eager to assemble my Pita Sandwich at the table.  I spread some hummus onto one side of the Pita, placed my meatballs down the center, topped with onions and yogurt sauce and cut up one cherry pepper and placed the pieces into the hummus!  The aroma is wonderful.  I take a bite. Wow!  The heat from the Cherry Pepper brings tears to my eyes!  About this time DW (who did not go anywhere near the Cherry Pepper Jar) exclaims there’s way too much heat in the meatballs.  Duh, no heat added, what was she complaining about!

I double checked her pita for Cherry Peppers and as suspected didn’t find any.  Then she says: OMG it’s the hummus, why is roasted red pepper hummus so hot??

Sure enough the hummus lid says: Supremely Spicy Hummus!  DW cops to having purchased this container from the visual of the color vs. reading the label!!!

Should be the SURPRISINGLY SPICY Hummus!

Should be the SURPRISINGLY SPICY Hummus!

Had I read the label at the outset, I certainly wouldn’t have added the Cherry Peppers to my sandwich! I survived eating my meatball pita but let me assure you there was a lot more yogurt sauce added!  Oh, and during the prep of the side dish I had tossed in some red pepper flakes while sauteing the onion & garlic!  Not that it made it blazingly hot or anything, but even hints of heat were unnecessary at this point.

The dark chocolate covered Ice Cream Truffle Balls for dessert is when the cooling happened!

Moral of the story: be sure to shop with your reading glasses on!

Eat Well…Be Well!

 

This entry was posted in Bits 'N' Pieces, Chef Jim Menu, Chef Jim Recipe and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Advice from a Chef: Read the Labels!

  1. sallybr says:

    Oh, that is too funny! sorry, but having had that particular brand of hummus, I know they are not kidding, they mean BUSINESS as far as heat is concerned…

    yeah, read the labels! Lesson learned! Yes? 😉

    Like

    • Chef Jim says:

      Since it wasn’t supposed to be new to us Hummus I never bothered to taste before spreading! I totally expected the only heat to be from the add cherry pepper, what a surprise!

      Like

  2. piper wilder says:

    This is a HOOT… Good thing not for one of your clients!!! Betcha would of read the lablel then…LOL!

    Like

Leave a Reply

