Dinner, Recipe Elevation & a Movie

This week I’m cooking dinner for 11 in a Manhattan Apartment and I wanted to elevate one of the recipes that I’ve made a few times: Beet and Goat Cheese Napoleons.  It’s to be served as a first course.

My elevation to the original recipe is the addition of Beet Puree w/Pistachio Oil.  Plating is a smear of the puree the Napoleon sprinkled with chopped pistachios and drizzle of Pistachio oil.

Roasted Red & Golden Beet and Herbed Goat Cheese Napoleon

Roasted Red & Golden Beet and Herbed Goat Cheese Napoleon

I’ve also decided that a spot of green in the way of pea shoots would be a nice addition.  My plate for dinner had parsley, the original recipe called for watercress.

So that was our first course tonite and then our dinner plate or bowl was Spiralized Yellow Squash and Zucchini sauteed with Shrimp Scampi.  Easy and tasty, and Gluten Free!

Shrimp Scampi on Yellow Squash & Zucchini Noodles

Shrimp Scampi on Yellow Squash & Zucchini Noodles

Pulled this meal together after returning home from seeing CHEF MOVIE!  Loved the movie, very cute and uplifting plot, certainly not a Oscar worthy film, yet gets props for being very entertaining!

The premise is a chef on the rise missteps via Social Media, loses his job and starts a food truck called El Jefe!  I laugh at this title because when I was a Store Director for the big toy store in the Bronx that’s what my employees called me.

At any rate don’t go see this movie hungry, I didn’t and still came out of the theater craving a Cubano Sandwich!!  The food looked awesome!  Good for inspiring a Chef’s creativity!

Eat Well…Be Well!

 

This entry was posted in Chef Jim Menu, Chefs and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dinner, Recipe Elevation & a Movie

  1. sallybr says:

    I was wondering about the movie, thanks for the heads up, we will definitely go see it

    the dishes look amazing, I have a spiralizer and had mixed results with using it for “pasta like dishes”, I think the technique must be flawless or you get mushy strands. I ve been reducing the time of cooking more and more, still haven’t reach perfection

    won’t even talk about the Napoleons, my oh my, WORK OF ART!

    great to see you blogging!!!!

    Like

  2. Chef Jim says:

    Thanx Sally, I must start scheduling blog time, so busy lately with little Charlie, who is actually becoming big Charlie rapidly! The movie is better than the trailer, typical feel good ending but the journey is fun!
    Yes, the “noodles” are tricky and to be honest these were 30 seconds over! But still tasty. I think I’m going to try making sure the squashes are room temp next time and just pour very hot sauce over them so they maintain more al dente texture!
    The Napoleons promise to be the hit of the dinner at least visually!

    Like

Leave a Reply

