Just Possibly the Ultimate Comfort Food

Sadly there were no pictures taken, so none available to post, but I think most would be able to imagine what this looks like and I’ll even go as far as to say, most will be able to imagine what it tastes like.  Some will even go: Dang, why didn’t I think of that!

In preparing a brunch menu I was searching for my Chicken Pot Pie with Filo dough crust recipe and stumbled across:  CHICKEN POT PIE LASAGNE!

Chicken Pot Pie

Chicken Pot Pie

arrowresized

Lasagne

Lasagne

 

 

 

 

 

WHOA!  How comforting would that be? Reminiscent of a White Lasagne with broccoli and garlic we used to make in the ’90’s!

I really didn’t want traditional pie crust as I was serving Apple Pie for dessert.  I’ve always liked the lighter version with Filo Top Crust, but admittedly for a buffet it’s messy to serve.  The perfect answer: Chicken Pot Pie Lasagne.  The original recipe was in a remote cookbook that came with my Mastercook recipe program.  I traced it back to the site referenced and found it here.

Of course you know me well enough by now to understand I “played” with the recipe and therefore my final version was loosely based on the original recipe.

I did saute the chicken as directed, adding salt, pepper and finely chopped fresh thyme–sauteed leek and mushrooms, and added to the chicken that was set aside. Also at this point I added a bag of Trader Joe’s Frozen Organic Foursome (corn, peas, carrots, green beans) to the chicken mixture.

I made the sauce as directed adding a little white pepper, because I like that in my white sauces.  I also eliminated the Swiss cheese and went all Mozzarella.  Assembled, as I do with my traditional lasagne: from bottom to top: sauce, noodles, chicken/veg combo sauce a little shredded mozzarella, noodles, ricotta combo, noodles, chicken/veg combo sauce and mozzarella, noodles, remaining sauce and the rest of the mozzarella.

Even the Chicken Pot Pie naysayers gobbled it up.  But those who came to the table with good expectations RAVED about how perfectly comforting it was!

And now we have a winner!  I implore you all to go forth and adapt your favorite Chicken Pot Pie recipe into a facsimile of this lasagne and be the cooking hero you know you are! Enjoy!

P.S. leftovers heated with an addition of quick bechamel to which I added a few spoonfuls of mozzarella were served with a simple salad for a satisfying quick dinner!

Eat Well…Be Well!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Just Possibly the Ultimate Comfort Food

  1. Yum yum….and perfect for our gorgeous crisp fall weather….lovely Jim as usual so when are all your fans invited for din? Heeee haaaaaaa…we all should one day plan a Bring our Special Compfort Food Fest!!! lol !

    Like

Leave a Reply

