Slider heaven!

Found a recipe for Mediterranean Turkey Sliders that gave me inspiration.  It was pretty straight forward and typical with spinach, scallions and cumin.  Then fry them and serve on slider rolls.

I head to the kitchen and here’s what I did: to the ground turkey I added chopped spring onion, chopped fresh spinach, minced garlic, crumbled feta cheese, cumin, salt and black pepper.  Placed the mixture into a medium size Pyrex dish that I had sprayed with Pam and baked in the oven @400º for 30 minutes, let rest for 10 minutes and sliced into squares to fit on the Martin’s Dinner Rolls that I had grilled and spread with hummus and chipotle mayo.

The salads on the plate are:

Grilled Zucchini, Mozzarella, Fregola, Mint, with Garlic Lemon Dressing and leftover Cucumber/Radish Salad.

A great Sunday night summer meal, other than having to use the oven, it was pretty easy meal to prep.

Turkey Sliders

Turkey Sliders

Monday, I tried a new method, during my cooking for clients hiatus, I cooked early in the day so that I wasn’t heating the kitchen at dinner time and collapsing in a dripping mess at the table after creating a meal at the last minute.

I made individual crustless quiches in the extra-sized muffin tins.  Cooled them and stored in the fridge.  Zapped in the microwave and served with Roasted Red Pepper Aioli.  The quiches had sauteed mushrooms, red pepper, shallots, wilted spinach and chopped Prosciutto.  Paired on the plate with the leftover Fregola Salad from the previous night.

This entry was posted in Chef Jim Recipe, Recipe and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Slider heaven!

  1. All I know is your wife is the LUCKIEST WOMAN ALIVE!!! And you can tell her for me too!!! You def are on a creative spree!!! Btw what is Fregola never heard of it…..And yaaaaaa where are the recipes? heee haaaaaa I know you can’t give it all out all the time!!! Just saying ..everything once again looks delish…..Happy Cooking! Where are the pics of the quiches……? yum sounding too.

    Like

  2. Chef Jim says:

    Thanx again Piper,
    Fregola is the Italian version of Toasted Israeli Couscous. To me it has a firmer tooth than Couscous. I bought it at Kalustyans. (http://www.kalustyans.com/)
    The original recipe can be found here: http://www.gourmettraveller.com.au/recipes/recipe-search/fast/2013/2/zucchini,-guanciale,-mozzarella-and-fregola-salad/ Since I just wanted it as a side I left out the Guanciale and used baby spinach in place of the basil, but mixed a tablespoon of pesto into the dressing!
    Didn’t plan to blog about the quiches, will try for a picture of the frozen leftovers when I pull them out and repost along with the recipe.
    Nana thanks you, too, she is the envy of her co-workers when she brings leftovers for lunch!

    Like

Leave a Reply

