New Stupid Chef Tricks!

I’ve been neglectful of this blog, but will be improving the attention soon, I promise.  It’s been a little hectic around my life lately.  But enough about excuses.  Today’s events spurned me to get on line and tell you about it.

I started the morning with rushing through breakfast so I could drive Nana to the subway in Forest Hills then run into the bank and then get a haircut.  The slice of banana bread that I put into the toaster was moist in the center and I didn’t toast it enough and it got stuck in the toaster!  The more I tried to retrieve it with the toast tongs, the more of a mess I was making.  So now large bits of banana bread are lodged in the toaster rendering it virtually useless.  So I decide the only thing to do is turn the toaster on and let it burn the bread so that it will turn to burnt crumbs.  I move the toaster to the stove top and plug it in so that it is under the exhaust fan and crank up the overhead hood fan and the window exhaust fan.  Closed the kitchen door and even with all that Nana came out of the shower to ask where the fire was!!  UGH!  The burning worked and I was able to scrape the remainders out of the toaster and we can now toast smoke free!

Continued my busy day with laundry, and other household chores.  Then it was time to start dinner.  Still hadn’t figured out what I was going to make with the Boneless Chicken Breasts I had in the fridge.  I did want to test a recipe I’m making for Christmas Eve dinner @ a Friends house.  It’s simple but a new technique.  Mini Pommes Anna!  You make them in a muffin tin for individual servings!  I wanted to test them to make sure they were easy to remove and plate etc.  I set up the mis en place with melted Ghee, salt, pepper, potatoes, muffin tin.  I set up the Cuisinart food processor to slice the potatoes instead of using my Mandoline.  It’s just 3 potatoes for me and Nana and I[m using a 6 slot muffin tin.  The first potato is huge, I had to cut it in half to be able to process it in the feed tube. After putting in the second half I look down into the bowl of the processor and realize I have shredded the potatoes instead of slicing them!  Yep Stupid Chef Trick!

After expressing a few expletives to no one in general, since I’m home alone,  I switch out the blade and put the shredded potato to the side.  I slice up the other two potatoes planned and assemble them in the muffin tins with the Ghee, Salt and Pepper!  Cover the tin with aluminum foil set into the preheated oven.  Now what to do with the shredded potato??  Latkes come to mind, so I grab two eggs and 1/4 cup of flour and 1/2 an onion. Shred the onion and toss with potatoes, squeeze them out and mix everything else together with them.  Grab the cast iron frying pan and add oil, heat and fry these puppies.

It made 6 lovely Latkes, so while they were draining on the paper towel I tasted one, awesome, probably the best ones I’ve ever made and to think it was a.) an accident  b.) a rushed task they turned out awesome!

Ok now what will I make with the chicken?  Ok, cast iron pan w/hot oil, I’m making fried chicken cutlets!  In less time than you can say Chicken Cutlets on their way, I floured, egged, breaded and seasoned the quickly pounded Breasts!  Fried them in the oil used for the Latkes!  So dinner was Chicken Cutlet/Individual Pommes Anna and salad.  Saving the latkes for lunch or maybe breakfast.

Now that’s what is known as a “Good Save”!

Eat Well…Be Well!

This entry was posted in Chef Jim Recipe and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to New Stupid Chef Tricks!

  1. Karen says:

    I’m glad that a day that didn’t start out great ended up well.

    Like

  2. Karen says:

    I forgot to add, have a Merry Christmas.

    Like

Leave a Reply

