Personally Personal Cheffing!

Since the weather predictions were pretty ugly for today, I decided to get some food in the apartment and cook up a few dishes for our freezer and fridge so that we could have some choices during the week and not have to create on the fly!

Went out to Long Island Friday while the weather was gorgeous, nice ride, but we were wishing the trees had turned a little more than what we saw.  Shopped in Plainview at Fairway.  We got lots of meat and some produce as well as some pantry basics.  Checked out some recipes and decided to round out some missing things from Trader Joe’s this morning before the rush!  The store opened @8 a.m. and I was there at 8:15 and there were already lines at the registers!  Funny how a bit of snow on the way creates such panic!

Back home I roasted a load of fresh tomatoes to create a Pasta Sauce to use on the fly.

Then I roasted broccoli with leeks and set up the beef stew for the pressure cooker.  Good old fashioned beef stew, used a little red wine to deglaze after browning the meat and mirepoix.

 

 

Next I had two chicken breasts on the bone, I made an Italian Braised Chicken with Potatoes, Carrots and Artichoke Hearts.  The breasts are buried under the veggies and sauce!

 

 

I had two double cut Pork Chops in brine in the fridge.  I braised them with sauteed mushrooms including dried Porcini.  Can’t wait to dig into this dish, I will have it with soft polenta and Nana will have hers with noodles.

 

 

 

Took some blanched Broccolini and tossed it with caramelized red onions!  YUM!  So Nana was wondering what was for dinner tonight, and I finally told her it was pasta.  I made Baked Rigatoni with Butternut Squash.  We had the typical tossed green salad with great raw veggies and Honey Mustard Dressing.

 

Dinner was delish, I’d add more than 2 cups of squash to balance it better next time!

 

 

The final dish is a Marinated Pork Tenderloin Stir Fry dish that used Spicy Chili Paste in the marinade.  I added Leek, Orange Bell Pepper, Green Beans, Water Chestnuts and Bamboo Shoots.  Looks like a winner! Topped with Cilantro.

I’d say it was a productive day and the apartment smells so wonderful! I say let it snow, rain, and whatever!

 

This entry was posted in Chef Jim Recipe, Roundup and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Personally Personal Cheffing!

  1. sallybr says:

    That is what I call a cooking marathon! I guess the dishwasher had to run a few cycles behind you… 😉

    I seem to have lost the energy to cook intensely like that for a full day, but I managed to do a few things yesterday, including a nice little loaf of bread, of course…

    loved all your dishes, the pork tenderloin stir fry is definitely something I would make for us too

    Like

  2. Chef Jim says:

    Truly a marathon, but not more than what I do on a cookdate for my clients! Just haven’t done it for ourselves in awhile, it was actually enjoyable.
    Here’s the ingredients to the pork marinade: 1/3 cup lite soy sauce
    1/4 cup sesame oil
    2 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce
    1/8 cup packed light brown sugar
    3 green onions, chopped
    4 cloves garlic, crushed
    1 1/2 tablespoons Asian chile paste
    1 1/2 teaspoons pepper
    1 1/2 pounds fat-trimmed pork tenderloin
    Mix all ingredients and marinate at least 8 hours!

    I didn’t do this but a good idea is to marinate two, and stir-fry one and roast or grill the other one.
    Boil the marinade for 10 minutes and pour half into stir-fry with some cornstarch slurry and baste the other tenderloin with remaining marinade!

    Like

  3. It was a marathon cook day. The smells were fabulous as always, made it hard not to want some of each dish as they finished cooling. I will have a hard time picking out what I want from this wonderful array of dishes. I think that we will have the dble porkchops tonight. I just might have to flip a coin for the other nights. As for this dishwasher it only ran twice, as I filled in on washing the others things that didn’t go in. But it will have been a fair trade for all the yummy food.

    Like

  4. Chef Jim says:

    So we had the Braised Chicken with leftover salad and enjoyed it so much, just a little leftover for lunch for one tomorrow! Thanx for all the dishwashing Nana!

    Like

  5. Karen says:

    Your day of cooking gave you a wonderful array of delicious sounding food. I personally like spending a day in the kitchen like that. Once you get going with the mise en place, you can do so many different meals.

    Like

    • Chef Jim says:

      Karen, it’s so natural for me, as that is what my day in day out business is all about. It’s just so much fun to do for ourselves, because I can try new recipes, tweak, alter and add to any recipe as I see fit!

      Like

Leave a Reply

