I wonder what Julia would say?

Just read an article from the venerable NY Times about how Mastering the Art of French Cooking has become an E-Book to be read and used on tablets, iPads etc.  It explains the difficulty in reproducing the same experience you get when you read the real book.  But they have finally mastered the ability to present the recipes in two columns as in the book.  In one column are the ingredients spaced next to the paragraphs of direction for those ingredients.  A format that is not often used in recipe writing, but certainly is part of the charm of this classic tome of French cooking.

You can read the article here and in case you missed it you can see my previous discussion about the life of cookbooks here!  So I’m now pondering what would Julia have said about this?  In Julie and Julia, Julie, herself, often wonders about Julia’s response to her project.  I think it would be most interesting to know Julia’s take on modern life as we live it, and the evolution of her work to become an electronic book.

As the article says you won’t have the same result when you splash sauces or seasonings on the screen vs. the page of a book.  A quick wipe and it’s clean not leaving behind a potential memory of the first time you tried a new to you recipe!  Also no page corners to dog ear so that you can find that recipe quickly when you want to write a blog entry!

Here’s a quote that might be fitting:

“…operational proof…it’s all theory until you see for yourself whether or not something works.”

Julia Child, My Life in France

Cook well…eat well…be well!

This entry was posted in Cookbooks and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I wonder what Julia would say?

  1. sallybr says:

    I’ve so far resisted to the iPhone, the iPad, and all sorts of e-readers…. I know at some point I’ll cave in, but the pleasure of turning real pages in a cookbook is hard to beat. For me, at least.

    thanks for posting the link to the article, I had not seen it…

    Like

  2. Chef Jim says:

    My wife has an e-reader and enjoys carrying it on the subway as it’s lighter and smaller than a book, she reads when I drive, and while she’s in the laundry room, so I have to say for her it’s been a successful addition to her electronic collection. But I doubt she’ll be cooking from it, you know she has a Personal Chef for that! LOL!

    Like

  3. I enjoy my iPhone and iPad but cannot see myself cooking from an iPad propped on my kitchen counter! Only time will tell!

    Like

Leave a Reply

