The Accidental Recipe

The plan was to make a great recipe that a fellow blogger had posted, but as I was gathering my ingredients I realized I was missing two key parts of the recipe and decided to scrap it for tonight’s dinner.  I was terribly disappointed because Sally’s description of the results made me salivate for it!  You can see the recipe for Israeli Couscous Salad on Bewitching Kitchen here.  And while you are there, check out her other wonderful posts, particularly on her bread baking, I’m totally envious of her talents.  For this recipe I was especially looking forward to adding the yogurt to the arugula pesto, as Sally did, imagining a lighter version of the pesto!

While contemplating what I was going to make to go along with the braised pork chops I had working in the pressure cooker, I decided to cook the fava beans we purchased yesterday on our way home from a short shopping trip to Long Island.  As you know Favas require a bit of work, but they are so worth it, what a great reward for the effort!  Here  can see the steps:

The Fava Bean Stages of Prep

From left to right  you see the empty pods, next the seeds after they’ve been cooked for 6 minutes in salted water, then on the extreme right the empty seed covering with the green yield of tasty fava beans in the bowl!
The brain was working hard to come up with a side dish, I had promised Israeli Couscous, so I boiled a cup of it for 9 minutes drained and spread on a sheet pan to cool with a drizzle of olive oil.  Chopped some celery, celery leaves, and some red pepper; defrosted some frozen peas; tossed the couscous, celery, celery leaves, red pepper, peas and fava beans.  I created a vinaigrette with juice of 1/2 lemon and 1/2 lime-garlic clove-dash of honey-dash of Dijon mustard, a handful of parsley, cilantro and tarragon, kosher salt and fresh ground black pepper, and some Spanish Olive oil.  Let the salad sit at room temperature until pork chops were done.  Served on a bed of Boston Lettuce Leaves with tomato wedges and sliced avocado.  The verdict: Delish!

The Plated Israeli Couscous & Fava Bean Salad

 Made enough for us to enjoy tomorrow night with some leftovers.  Will have to wait till Sunday for Sally’s Arugula Pesto w/yogurt!  I’m sure it will be tasty as well. Meanwhile so glad I conjured this one up at the last-minute with  more than a modicum of  success.
Enjoy!
 
This entry was posted in Chef Jim Recipe and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Accidental Recipe

  1. Yes Chef Jim, I could eat that couscous all day. The porkchops were great too.

    Like

  2. sallybr says:

    Wow! What a wonderful surprise to see your post mentioning the Bewitching!

    well, what can I say? You came up with a great recipe, and a teaser for me, as I’ve been curious about fava beans for a long time, but never cooked it myself. I had it in restaurants once or twice, but find it so intimidating… maybe with you holding my virtual hand I can go for it

    Thanks for the link to the BK, loved it!

    Like

  3. Chef Jim says:

    Sally, the prep is not hard but it can be time consuming! Each pod has 3-5 “seeds” inside them, so there’s lots of effort to open them and pull them out, once that is done you blanch them in salted water for 6 minutes or so, drain and shock in ice water. Drain and pinch the outer “skin” and squeeze the jewel out and add to your recipe. That’s why they always tend to be a garnish more than the mainstay of a dish. I actually stumbled across frozen ones once and used them in the winter to make a wonderful succotash with frozen corn, sauteed red onion, red bell pepper and the favas, it was a little bit of summer in the dead of winter, made everyone at the table smile!

    Like

  4. Pingback: Recipe made: ISRAELI COUSCOUS SALAD WITH ARUGULA PESTO | Travels with a Culinary Artist

Leave a Reply

